South Carolina & Georgia Marriage Licenses
To be truly married, you need the official marriage license. Every State has their own laws of course, and each county has there own process from application to license. Navigating these can sometimes be a challenge, so here is some top level 411 on the process for South Carolina & Georgia Marriage Licenses to help you through it!
In order to get your marriage license in South Carolina, the law states:
“To apply, you’ll need a valid government issued ID, like a driver’s license, passport or military ID and make sure you have your social security number memorized or on hand. A 24-hour waiting period will keep you from getting your license immediately, so make sure if you are travelling or applying locally, you plan for this down time.”
Now, as I mentioned, each county will operate a bit differently. For instance, in Beaufort County (home of Hilton Head Island & Bluffton) You can schedule an appointment for an in-person application, or temporarily due to COVID-19 you are allowed to Mail in your application.
“New applications for Marriage Licenses will be accepted by mail and (if marriage to occur within 60 days) by appointment for a drive up application, at the Hilton Head Office only. Arrangements may be made by calling the Court’s offices at 843 -255-5850.” BEAUFORT COUNTY PROBATE COURT
On the flip side to this, Charleston County has an online virtual application process.
“The couple must complete the (LOVE) Live Online Virtual E-Application and complete the $70.00 payment by credit card. The application contains general information such as name, address, age, and social security number/alien identification number.
Three to five business days after you submit the application and payment, a staff member will email the application and affidavit to the email addresses provided on the application.
The application and affidavit are sworn statements that must be signed by both parties and emailed to a staff member of the Charleston County Probate Court.” CHARLESTON PROBATE COURT
I highly suggest getting this done as soon as possible in your planning. Marriage Licenses in South Carolina do not expire.
The process in Georgia is very similar to South Carolina, with a few different nuances. Here are a couple requirements for Chatham County (Savannah, GA).
- Georgia residents may apply for a marriage license in any county in Georgia.
- If neither applicant is a resident of Georgia, the marriage license must be obtained in the county where the ceremony is going to be performed.
- For marriage licenses issued in the State of Georgia, the marriage ceremony must be performed in Georgia.
- Premarital blood tests are no longer required in Georgia.
Because of COVID-19, Chatham County is moving to more of a hybrid option:
- You must submit your application along with supporting documentation via email or by placing it in a drop box at the Probate Court. Necessary supporting documentation may include, color copies of both applicant’s current driver’s licenses or passports, signed or sealed divorce judgment from last marriage, or death certificate for deceased former spouse.
- We will then review your application. Once we find it to be complete, we will email you a link to schedule an appointment for both applicants to come to the Court for your license.
- Probate Court is not accepting cash at this time. You will need to pay with a credit or debit card when you complete the process at Probate Court.
Our team has a wealth of knowledge, and we are here to guide you every step of the way.
Check out our Services for more information!